Junior Investigators' Symposium

The Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics (ITMAT) is pleased to host a one-day symposium for junior investigators (physician fellows, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty conducting research) focused on successful strategies for a career in clinical and translational science. Attendees will gain valuable career insights through presentations, panel discussions, and time for networking.

2019 Junior Investigators' Symposium:
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
8:30AM to 4:30PM
Smilow Center for Translational Research

Registration will open soon.

Slides & Session Recordings:
Session slides and recordings will be posted here after the event. You may watch the recorded sessions from the 2017 symposium here.     


Updated Agenda Coming Soon

2017 Agenda:





Registration and Continental Breakfast

Smilow Commons


J. Larry Jameson, MD, PhD, Dean, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania


Dennis Durbin, MD, MSCE and Emma Meagher, MD

Rubenstein Auditorium


Unraveling the Mystery of Academic Tracks 

Moderator: Kathy Shaw, MD, MSCE

Panel: Angie Ellison, MD, MSc; Erum Hartung, MD, MTR; Eric Joyce, PhD; Ben Voight, PhD

Rubenstein Auditorium


Coffee Break

Smilow Commons


Core Tenets of Effective Mentee-Mentor Relationships

Moderators:  Emma Meagher, MD and Dennis Durbin, MD, MSCE

Rubenstein Auditorium


Writing a Career Development/K Award

Moderator: Jonathan Katz, MD

Panel: Sandra Amaral, MD, MHS & Sue Furth, MD, PhD; Amanda Zacharias, PhD & John Murray, PhD

SCTR 8-146AB

Writing a Successful NIH R Grant

Moderator: Garret FitzGerald, MD

Panel: Casey Brown, PhD; Yael Mosse, MD; Matthew Weitzman, PhD

Rubenstein Auditorium


Lunch & Networking

Smilow Commons


Navigating Research Resources: Clinical Session

Moderators:  Emma Meagher, MD and Dennis Durbin, MD, MSCE

SCTR 8-146AB

Navigating Research Resources: Lab Session

Moderators: Celeste Simon, PhD and Harry Ischiropoulos, PhD

SCTR 9-146AB


Speed Mentoring

Smilow Commons

Research Vendor Forum

Coffee Break


Building Your Brand and Online Presence

Rachel Locke, PhD

Rubenstein Auditorium


Symposium Keynote

Jonathan Epstein, MD, Executive Vice Dean and Chief Scientific Officer, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

Rubenstein Auditorium


Networking Reception

Smilow Commons

Smilow Center for Translational Research
Rubenstein Auditorium and Smilow Commons
3400 Civic Center Blvd
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Directions: For directions to sign in and the Rubenstein Auditorium on the first floor of Smilow Center for Translational Research (SCTR) click here.

For Panel Sessions held on floor 8 or 10 SCTR in 146 AB conference rooms: Take Smilow elevators to the designated floor, enter through glass doors, turn right, and follow the hall as far right as possible to the 146AB conference rooms. Signs will be posted as well.

Speed Mentoring: Attendees will have the opportunity to spend time one-on-one with seasoned faculty members. Click here to see the list of faculty who have committed to participate as speed mentors.

Registration: There is no cost to attend, but registration is required. Register here. Questions can be directed to Anna Greene.