2014 ITMAT Symposium

ITMAT Symposium


Progress in Translational Science: Emerging Therapeutic Modalities

The 2014 ITMAT Symposium will again enlist outstanding speakers from the U.S. and abroad to address topics of direct relevance to translational science. Speakers will include those dealing with approaches to the pursuit of translational science in academic medical centers and biotech, the changing world of academic publishing and the challenges of drug development including the parsing of variability in drug response. Broad areas of scientific advance in stem cell therapeutics, single cell omics and immunotherapeutics will be combined with a focus on therapeutic developments in malaria. Audience participation will be encouraged both in the discussion periods and in the many unstructured opportunities for interaction at coffee and meal breaks and at our conference dinner. Our dinner speaker will be Chris Austin, Director of NCATS.

Dates: Monday and Tuesday, October 13–14, 2014

Smilow Center for Translational Research
Rubenstein Auditorium and Lobby
3400 Civic Center Blvd
Philadelphia, PA 19104

 2014 Agenda


Registration is required for attendance and for participation via web. Please register at one of the following links:

ITMAT Symposium Registration Fees

Attending in Person:

  • Non Members: $100.00
  • ITMAT Full Members: $50.00
  • ITMAT Associate Members: $0 (If attending dinner: $25.00)

To View Webstream:

  • Non Members: $25.00
  • ITMAT Members (Full and Associate): $0

For inquiries please contact: mreagan@upenn.edu

2014 Featured Speakers

J. Larry Jameson, MD, PhD, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

Sir Leszek Borysiewicz, FRS, FRCP, FMedSci, University of Cambridge

Michael Hay, EVP, Sagient Research

Katrina Kelner, PhD, Science Translational Medicine (AAAS)

Charles Weissmann, MD, PhD, Scripps Florida

Kenneth S. Zaret, PhD, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

Clifford J. Woolf, MB, BCh, PhD, Harvard Medical School

Marius Wernig, MD, Stanford University

Elaine Fuchs, PhD, The Rockefeller University

Elizabeth Winzeler, PhD, University of California, San Diego School of Medicine

Manuel Llinás, PhD, Pennsylvania State University

Beatrice H. Hahn, MD, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

Christopher P. Austin, MD, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, NIH

Jim Eberwine, PhD, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

David R. Klug, PhD, Imperial College

Renato Zenobi, PhD, ETH Zurich

D. Gary Gilliland, MD, PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Romina Goldszmid, PhD, Center for Cancer Research, NCI, NIH

Paul Watkins, MD, Hamner- University of North Carolina Institute for Drug Safety Sciences

Ira Mellman, PhD, Genentech

Carl H. June, MD, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

Luke O'Neill, PhD, Trinity College Dublin

Garret A. FitzGerald, MD, FRS, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

Follow and Post the ITMAT Symposium 2014 @PennMedNews #ITMAT2014


2014 Symposium Sponsorship:
Janssen Pharmceutical Companies
Science Translational Medicine AAAS

Past Symposia Highlights