ITMAT Symposium


The 2018 ITMAT Symposium will again enlist outstanding speakers from the U.S. and abroad to address topics of direct relevance to translational science. Amongst the topics are the neuroscience of time and space, pain and inflammation and human phenomic science. We will hear of novel translational structures for drug discovery, emerging technologies in translational science and imaginative models of human physiology and disease. Sir Keith Peters, Emeritus Regius Professor of Physic, University of Cambridge will be the featured dinner speaker.

Audience participation will be encouraged both in the discussion periods and in the many unstructured opportunities for interaction at coffee and meal breaks and at our conference dinner.

Dates: Monday and Tuesday, October 15–16, 2018

Smilow Center for Translational Research
Rubenstein Auditorium and Lobby
3400 Civic Center Blvd
Philadelphia, PA 19104



Registration is required for attendance and for participation via web.

ITMAT Symposium Registration Fees

Attending in Person:

  • Non Members: $100.00
  • ITMAT Full Members: $50.00
  • ITMAT Associate Members: $0 (If attending dinner: $25.00)

To View Webstream:

  • Non Members: $25.00
  • ITMAT Members (Full and Associate): $0

Registration Links: available Summer 2018.

For inquiries please contact:

2018 Featured Speakers:

  • Jonathan A. Epstein, MD, University of Pennsylvania
  • Roger M. Perlmutter, MD, PhD, Merck Research Laboratories
  • Isaac Kohane, MD, PhD, Harvard Medical School
  • Kang Zhang, MD, PhD, University of California, San Diego
  • Timothy K. Lu, MD, PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Kiran Musunuru, MD, PhD, MPH, University of Pennsylvania
  • Katherine A. High, MD, Spark Therapeutics
  • Tracy S. Zimmermann, PhD, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals
  • Canan Dagdeviren, PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • David B. Weiner, PhD, The Wistar Institute
  • Elaine Fuchs, PhD, The Rockefeller University
  • Sir Keith Peters, Emeritus Regius, University of Cambridge
  • Guido Kroemer, MD, PhD, University of Paris Descartes
  • Coleen T. Murphy, PhD, Princeton University
  • Cornelia M. Weyand, MD, PhD, Stanford University
  • Mary Herbert, PhD, Newcastle University
  • Vamsi K. Mootha, MD, Harvard Medical School
  • Weiping Zou, MD, PhD, University of Michigan
  • Paolo Fiorina, MD, PhD, University of Milan
  • Maja Bućan, PhD, University of Pennsylvania
  • Helen Barbas, PhD, Boston University and School of Medicine
  • Holger Franz Sperdin, PhD, University of Geneva, Switzerland
  • Beverly H. Koller, PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Alan R. Saltiel, PhD, University of California, San Diego
  • Kate Schroder, The University of Queensland
  • Garret A. FitzGerald, MD, FRS, University of Pennsylvania

2018 Symposium Sponsorship:

Past Symposia Highlights