Nutrition Core

The Nutrition Core consists of the Nutrition Assessment Unit and the Dietary Assessment Unit and is overseen by Babette Zemel, PhD, Scientific Director, and Charlene Compher, RD, PhD, Technical Director.

Scientific Director:
Babette Zemel, PhD
Phone: 215-590-1669
Email: zemel@email.chop.edu

Technical Director, Dietary Assessment Unit:
Charlene Compher, RD, PhD
Phone: 215-898-3619
Email: compherc@nursing.upenn.edu


Nutrition Core: Nutrition Assessment Unit

The Nutrition Assessment Unit of the Nutrition Core is a state-of-the-art facility for the assessment of growth and body dimensions, body composition (the amount of muscle, fat and bone in the body), energy expenditure, bone density, and muscle strength. The Unit has two locations and four experienced technicians for performing research assessments. Services provided by the Nutrition Assessment Unit include:

Click here for CHOP CHPS specific information

Staffing

Core Director: Scientific Director
Babette Zemel, PhD
215-590-1669 zemel@email.chop.edu
Senior Technician: Gail Jackson 215-590-4159 jacksong@email.chop.edu
Technician: Grace Lee   leeg2@email.chop.edu

Nutrition Core: Dietary Assessment Unit

The Dietary Assessment Unit of the Nutrition Core provides a broad range of nutrition-related research services to investigators at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania (HUP) and Penn Presbyterian Medical Center (PPMC). Services include:

Click here for CHOP CHPS specific information

Technical Director: Dietary Assessment Unit

Charlene Compher, RD, PhD
Phone: 215-898-3619
Email: compherc@nursing.upenn.edu

CHOP
Debra Cahn, RD, LDN 215-590-1650 cahn@email.chop.edu
Erin Donaldson, BS 215-590-0146 donaldson@email.chop.edu

 

Penn
Lisa Basel Brown, MS, RD, LDN 215-662-7824 lisa@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Cheryl Milhoan, MS, RD 215-662-3180 cherylm2@upenn.edu

 

Metabolic Kitchen 215-662-2682
Nipsey Mitchell
Anthony Anderson