2020 Symposium Highlights


Missed the event live?

Watch the recording here: https://mediasite.med.upenn.edu/mediasite/Channel/itmat-symposium-2020.

15 Years of Excellence

The 2020 ITMAT Symposium will again enlist outstanding speakers from the U.S. and abroad to address topics of direct relevance to translational science.

Dates: Monday and Tuesday, October 12–13, 2020

Location: Free Virtual Event 



Registration is required for participation via web. Registration is now open.

Registration Link: https://primetime.bluejeans.com/a2m/register/zxtzbeaj

For inquiries please contact: gdmarkle@upenn.edu

2020 Featured Speakers: 

  • Fiona Marshall, Ph.D, Merck Research Laboratories 
  • Michael Vasconcelles, M.D., Flatiron Health 
  • Christi Guerrini, JD, MPH, Assistant Professor, Baylor College of Medicine 
  • Kevin G. Volpp, M.D., Ph.D, University of Pennsylvania 
  • David Mitchell, Founder Patients for Affordable Drugs
  • Hiromitsu Nakauchi, M.D., Ph.D, Professor, Stanford University School of Medicine 
  • Fiona M. Watt, MA, DPhil, Professor, King's College London 
  • Keisuke Nagao, M.D., Ph.D, National Institutes of Health 
  • Madeleine Cule, Ph.D, Calico Life Sciences 
  • C. Thomas Caskey, M.D., FACP, FACMG, FRSC, Baylor College of Medicine 
  • Jessilyn Dunn, Ph.D, Assistant Professor, Duke University 
  • Stephen O'Rahilly, M.D., Professor, University of Cambridge 
  • Annick Desjardins, M.D., FRCPC, Associate Professor Duke University Medical Center 
  • Drew Weissman, M.D., Ph.D, Professor, University of Pennsylvania
  • Marcela V. Maus, M.D., Ph.D, Director, Harvard Medical School
  • Joseph L. Witztum, M.D., Professor, University of California, San Diego 
  • Ajay M Shah, M.D., FMedSci, Director, King's College London
  • Giuseppe Remuzzi, M.D., Director, Mario Negri Institute for Pharmacological Research, Italy
  • Ana Maria Henao Restrepo, M.D., MSc, Unit Lead, World Health Organization 
  • David Mangelsdorf, Ph.D, Professor, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center 
  • Stephanie Huang, Ph.D, Associate Professor, University of Minnesota
  • Jean Bennett, M.D., Ph.D, University of Pennsylvania 
  • Michael Snyder, Ph.D, Professor, Stanford School of Medicine

2020 Symposium Sponsorship: